Museum of Memory and Human Rights, Santiago

So. I have only one photo for you today. It is this one:

img_4776

This building is magnificent, isn’t it?

It is the Museum of Memory and Human Rights in Santiago, Chile.

No photos are allowed inside.

I wrote a bit about Pinochet in my post about the walking tour that Andrew and I had been on earlier this day.

Here’s what I wrote about the visit in my journal: “It was quite moving, upsetting experience. Learning about how cruel the dictator (Pinochet) was… and how everything changed on that one day (the day he came to power) and people began disappearing.”

Most of it was in Spanish… but it’s a visual museum, many photographs and torture devices used during the Pinochet regime.

It is a difficult museum to visit. But like I’ve said before, I think it’s important to visit the difficult, horrific places too. To see what humans are capable of, and how we got there. So that we may not get there again.

I wish I knew Spanish, because there are newspaper clippings and news clips, snapshots of terrible things that happened, recorded in real time. It’s not easy to process.

I also wish I had more time to spend there, because I don’t think we did it justice. Sometimes it just seems right to make an effort to pay attention, make an effort to understand what people who opposed Pinochet went through. I would have liked to pay more attention.

Leave a Reply

