Surprise Us! Dining at Maido, in Lima, Peru

We love food.  We love trying new flavours.  We have no allergies.  (Apart from my stupid allergy to red wine.)  This makes dining out while traveling quite amazing for Andrew and I.

Umami flavours, and seafood, are favourite foodie experiences of mine.  So when Andrew told me about Nikkei cuisine, I was instantly in love with the idea, and excited to try it last year when we were in Peru.

There’s a huge Japanese population in Peru, and Nikkei is basically Japanese techniques are applied to Peruvian ingredients.  And really, the more you think about it, the more it makes sense, that this would be a blissful union.  After all, one of the main dishes of Peru is ceviche — fresh raw fish, “cooked” by the acid of lime.   That is to say, both culinary cultures greatly enjoy raw or rare fish, and know how to make it shine (this is an understatement).

When Andrew told me we would be visiting a restaurant featuring Nikkei cuisine, I’m pretty sure I jumped up and down and clapped my hands like a little girl.  (I get very excited about delicious food.)

And that restaurant… was Maido, in Lima, Peru.

IMG_7599

Took this picture while waiting for that wooden door to be opened. (We were early.)

We were very eager diners.  Because they didn’t have a tasting menu, we requested sort of a tasting of Maido’s greatest dishes.

“Surprise us!” we said.

IMG_7600

Pork dumpling in broth.

First, the chef sent us a delicate pork dumpling in aromatic broth.  These surprises from the chef are some of the most delightful experiences.  I just don’t expect it, and it makes the food taste even better!

IMG_7607

Coca sour (Maido’s take on a pisco sour).

Next, we ordered drinks.  I’m typically a beer girl.  But Maido was clearly the kind of place that creates craft cocktails.  A pisco sour is sort of the national drink of Peru, but Maido also creates a coca sour.  As we were scheduled to leave for Cuzco the next day, I figured I should go for the coca sour.  It was quite herbaceous, a nice amount of acid and sweetness… what can I say?  It made me happy.  I ordered a second.

IMG_7609

Thinly sliced raw fish (we think it was paiche) with olive oil.

Then our first dish arrived.  When raw fish is so fresh and presented so well… I could almost hear angels singing, it was so heavenly.

IMG_7610

Nigiri, Maido-style: salmon with yellow pepper sauce, tuna with egg yolk, scallop with tiger’s milk.

Then, I encountered my most favourite thing I’ve ever eaten in my entire life.  Nigiri, Maido-style.  We were presented with five different nigiri, and I wanted to savour this moment forever.  If I could stop time, I would’ve stopped it right there.  Seriously, this is the best thing I’ve ever eaten.  Flat out.  (Though technically, it’s five things.)

IMG_7611

Nigiri, Maido-style, continued: foie gras, beef with egg yolk.  These two were torched table-side.

Next, short rib taco on a lettuce leaf.  Very, very delicious.  As if it could be anything else.

IMG_7614

Short rib taco, with lettuce leaf as a taco shell.

Next, these little steamed bun/fish sandwiches served on little boats.  In my journal I noted that these were “AMAZING”.  Of course they were.  The crispiness of the coating on the fish was just right, and contrasted with the softness of the bun.  This may have been my second most favourite dish of the day.

IMG_7615

Very small breaded fish sandwich on a steamed bun.

And then, the piece de resistance… short rib.

IMG_7616

Short rib, cooked for 50 hours.  We ate it with that spoon.

This is no joke — the only utensil they serve the short rib with, is that spoon.  It’s all you need.  It cuts like butter.  And the taste?  Out of this world.  We were in awe.  But really, it’s the texture that launched this dish into the stratosphere of deliciousness.  Because when in your life do you encounter a short rib (or any cut of beef) that comes anywhere close to this level of tenderness?

That’s right.  Never.  Unless you’re at Maido.

IMG_7623

Andrew loved the short rib the best.  YUM!

And then, because we had so thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, we ordered one more dish.  “Dessert”, I guess you could call it…

IMG_7624

Ceviche, Maido-style.

Why not try Maido’s take on ceviche?  It was excellent too, of course.

We were so happy.

We looked at each other.

“I think this is the best meal I’ve ever had in my LIFE,” I confessed.

“I was just thinking the same thing,” Andrew replied.

IMG_7626

One last look at the interior of the restaurant, before reluctantly leaving.

This year, Maido leapt onto the Latin America’s 50 Best Restaurants list, right up to No.11.

We weren’t one bit surprised.

Conclusion:  This is my favourite restaurant.  The food.  The service.  The food.  The food.  The food!  Love.

6 responses to “Surprise Us! Dining at Maido, in Lima, Peru

  1. Pingback: Nikkei Cuisine at Osaka Santiago | miss adventurer·

Leave a Reply

