White Rabbit Cafe, Fred Penner / New Music, Old Friends

After posting about our very much flawed first night at Harvest Sun 2012, I received a fantastic message from Rachelle, in which she provided me with some pictures for my second post, and wrote, “Please write about the ‘parade’!” I told her that I definitely would. So!  Here’s what happened the second day of our adventure…

First of all, a pair of cute little voices just outside the tent awoke us from our slumber: “Is auntie Erin in there?  When do you think she’s going to come out?”  It was too adorable.  My friends’ daughters just melt my heart.  The rest of me felt like melting too, because the hot summer sun had turned our tent into a greenhouse/furnace.

When I emerged, I discovered that all the females of the group were now going to “walk into town”.  This was exciting!  My first time seeing what kind of place we’d stumbled into — because I certainly hadn’t seen much due to our late arrival the night before.  I was mostly excited at the idea of buying a coffee and a breakfast.  We soon found ourselves at the White Rabbit Cafe.  I’d read about this place in the days leading up to the festival, and I’d been excited to finally experience it for myself.  I really love small, quirky, heartfelt, locally-owned and operated businesses, and this girl seemed kind, talented, creative, and just the kind of person that should own an eatery such as this. white rabbit

 My excitement was palatable.  As was the food.

As we were eating breakfast, we were told by other diners and the girl at the till that there was going to be a parade soon.  Okay cool, we’d check that out. Honestly though, I’m a little foggy on the details of this parade.  That’s because while the parade was happening, there were clowns.  Or maybe just one clown.  But anyway, clowns are not my favourite.  Never been a fan.  Kinda actually really hate them.

This clown seemed to take a special interest in our little group… and one of the only things I remember from this moment was thinking that it was unacceptable for me to want to hide behind Rachelle’s small daughter N.  In fact, I could see N looking uncomfortable with this clown as well, and I thought to myself, “Erin, don’t let N see that you’re afraid of the clown.  Also, do NOT hide behind N.  That’s not fair.  Also, N is much smaller than you and that won’t work anyway.”  That’s honestly all I remember about that parade — trauma over the clown.

We then returned to the festival.  At some point that day, Sam took this photo of Andrew: lays

Nothing quenches your thirst like a can o’ Lays!

Right around the time that was happening… THIS was happening over at the main stage:

That’s Fred Penner on stage at Harvest Sun.  Andrew got me in the video at the end there a little bit.

When I was a child in the 80’s, Fred Penner’s Place, was one of my favourite television shows, so I was pretty pleased that he was going to be the children’s entertainment at Harvest Sun.  Later on that afternoon, I had a chance to say hi to him, and thankfully said something that was actually coherent, which is a minor miracle considering the fact that I’m actually conversationally-inept.  I said, “Thanks for that great performance!  I’ve been a fan since I was a child!  My favourite was ‘The Cat Came Back’!”  He replied, “Thanks!  I like your hat, sweetheart!” Sweet!  I liked my hat too.  It was a fantastic compliment from Fred.  The benefit of attending a tiny festival?  You can meet whomever you want — even superstars from your childhood!

a&s

Here’s a picture Rachelle sent to me of Andrew and Sam, chillin’ at the festival.  And Rachelle’s lovely neck.  🙂

For various reasons, both Rachelle and Meredith had to leave sometime that afternoon.  It was quite bittersweet, even though we knew we’d see them again soon because we all live in the same little city… it’s just that somehow it’s not the same as hanging out at a summer festival.  *sigh*

After this, Sam, Kristelle, Andrew, and I sat back in our chairs at the main stage and listened to music as darkness fell.  At some point I secured sustenance from Margo’s Grill, which had a food truck near the main stage.

IMG_3151

Folks at the food trucks, awaiting delicious food.

We did a lot of chatting amongst ourselves, when suddenly we heard a voice — and guitar — that would not be ignored.  Greg MacPherson had taken the stage.  This is how we learned that he’s just a fantastic, fantastic singer/songwriter/performer.  Intense, earnest, loud.  So great.  Andrew and I very much want to see him perform again.  We later learned from our very talented young friend Hailey Primrose that not only is Greg a phenomenal musician, but he’s also a genuinely great person.  This cannot be said of all musicians, as I’m sure we all know.

It was a beautiful, important evening to me.  I loved sitting there with good friends, in a field, under the moon and stars, perfect weather, amazing music.  Honestly, does it even get any better?

5 responses to “White Rabbit Cafe, Fred Penner / New Music, Old Friends

  1. My favourite song is “Sandwiches”. And, that’s my random comment for this post. Also, I’d like to see this hat that Fred Penner likes.

    Like

    • I think that was the song he was singing in the video I posted, right? Or not. I only know I LOVED “The Cat Came Back”. Which is interesting, considering the fact that I detest cats.
      You’ll see the hat in my next post!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Andrew & I Explore Kelwood, Manitoba: a video/photo post | miss adventurer·

Leave a Reply

